This post was last updated on September 7th, 2016 at 03:20 pm

Regional tuition-savings agreement

The Academic Common Market (ACM) is a tuition-savings agreement between 15 southern states that are members of the Southern
Regional Education Board (SREB). If your degree program is not offered at a public college in Delaware, you may be eligible for instate tuition at a public college that participates in the ACM.

To be eligible for the ACM, you must be:

  1. A Delaware resident and U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen whose degree program is not offered at Delaware State University or the University of Delaware; and
  2. Accepted into an eligible baccalaureate or graduate-level degree program selected for the ACM by a participating college. Note: The ACM does not include first professional degree programs, such as pharmacy, medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, optometry, theology, or law.

The 15 participating states are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida (graduate-level programs only)
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas (graduate-level programs only)
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

Programs offered in the ACM are selected by the participating public colleges and are subject to change. States and colleges may also set restrictions on ACM participation, such as undergraduate or graduate-only enrollment; full-time enrollment; or the completion of specific coursework to enter the degree program.

You can submit your ACM application to the Delaware Higher Education Office (DHEO) after you have been accepted into an eligible degree program. If you remain continuously enrolled in the same program at the same school, make satisfactory academic progress and retain your Delaware residency, you do not have to reapply each year. Institutional requirements to retain ACM status may include full-time enrollment and maintaining a minimum GPA. Deadlines to accept ACM certifications are set by the institution.

Please contact DHEO if you have any questions or if your program is not currently offered in the ACM. The participating institutions will sometimes add a program upon request. To learn about eligible programs for Delaware residents or to download an application, visit